Comox Valley Playoffs / Mike Nesbitt / Recent Tidbits

The Comox Valley Glacier Kings have had their toughest stretch of the regular season in the final few weeks of the season as they have been playing three of the top teams in the league (Campbell River, Victoria, Oceanside) multiple times. The Glacier Kings seem to be playing their best hockey of the year right now and still have not been dressing their “playoff roster” for various reasons. Since the start of February, they have played the Storm 3 times, Cougars twice and the Generals twice (after Monday’s match up). I spoke with GKings head coach/GM Mike Nesbitt about the tough schedule and he loves it. He feels this is preparing his club for the playoffs with some really good competition.

Instead of feeling sorry for themselves, they come to work with their lunch pails and hard hats and played some really solid hockey. Even in the games they’ve lost to the top teams, it’s been by one goal in every case. Honestly, if they play like their capable, Comox has a shot to go far this year. Mike Nesbitt has looked like a genius with some of his mid-season acquisitions like Joe Weber, Logan Furlong, Jean-Michael Gilbert, Parker Jorginson, Trey Anderson, Logan Kurki etc. Everyone of those players are impact players. He’s also picked up role players like Riely Wiens, Ty Moore and Eric Van Loon who fit into his system seemlessly. Yes that is a big turnover from the start of the year which can be a big gamble when it comes to chemistry but it has worked and the Glacier Kings are a force to be reckoned with. That’s the first time I can say that in my 6 seasons with the club. Mike has been nominated for “Coach of the Year” and “Executive of the Year” and has to be a favorite to win both. Considering this is only his second season and first full season (Covid cut his first season short) with the Yeti, it is remarkable how he has overhauled this team and assembled a speedy, gritty, tough, skilled club which is full of really nice kids that really do like each other. Over the 4 previous years combined, Comox Valley had won a total of just 21 games. This year alone, Mike has amassed 27 wins with one game remaining on the schedule. I am of course biased but he would have my vote. On Saturday’s pregame show, I asked him about it and he gave a very short answer as that’s not what he is focusing on right now. He will talk about his players for long periods of time but not himself. He has been studying Oceanside for a month now anticipating the first round match up. The players have told me that they have been preparing as well.

On the lighter side, I have really enjoyed broadcasting games again, especially in these past couple months. Consider Saturday’s game against Victoria. Down 7-3 late in the third period, Comox came back with 3 goals, two with their net empty and almost got a third. If it wasn’t for being shorthanded, who know how that game may have ended up. It is really fun hockey to watch. In a full 52 game season, I would love to put Caileb Berge / Logan Kurki up against Riley Braun / Logan Speirs. How fun would that be? I have been told that Kurki (former Junior ‘A’ sensation last 4 years) will be available the rest of the way for the Valley which should make things very interesting.

Speaking of entertaining, I loved the very physical game last Friday where they beat Oceanside and the celebration after they beat Campbell River, whom they’ve come close with but had trouble beating all season. It almost seems like a cinderella story and it is now their time. Despite the past half dozen games not meaning much in the standings the fans have found it entertaing too as we’ve had some of the bigger attendance numbers coming to the arena. Everyone can see Comox is peaking at the right time.

Other observations:

  • I have given Jean-Michael Gilbert “Player of the Game” the past 2 games. My gosh… is there anything he can’t do?
  • It seems like Comox is getting 2-3 breakaways while shorthanded every game lately. They lead the VIJHL in shorthanded goals with 14.
  • In back to back nights, the Glacier Kings had 3 PP goals and a 1 SH goal.
  • Comox Valley has handed Campbell River 2 of its 6 losses this season.
  • In the playoffs, I’ll be broadcasting Games 2, 4, 6 on HockeyTV and Games 3, 5, 7 on Compass Radio (www.cvcommunityradio.ca).
  • I met Caileb Berge’s mom, grandma and sister over the weekend. They are visiting from Alberta to watch Caileb play. Btw, Berge still leads the VIJHL in goals with 45.
  • It was nice to have Shannon Skender back singing the national anthem the past couple games. She had a long bout with Covid.
  • The Glacier Kings have scored first in 33 of their 48 games this season and are 23-1 when leading after 2 periods.
  • Caileb Berge leads the team with being named “Player of the Game” 13 times. Ryder Lally is second with 6.
  • Wednesday will mark the Glacier Kings first playoff game since the 2016-17 season.
  • I couldn’t stop laughing on HockeyTV at one moment in Saturday’s game when referee Liam Reid looked like a Cirque du Soleil acrobat when he stumbled but tried as hard as he could not fall. He was leaned right over forward taking giant steps trying to keep his balance before finally doing a full superman on the ice. I saw him chuckle with the linesman later.
  • Getting ready to start the third period, I put my headset on but there was no audio. I started panicking and yelling that I had no audio. Then Shannon turned to me and told me I had the wrong headset on and everyone started laughing at me. Dave Dueck (P.A. Announcer) came over to me with the wireless microphone (had it turned off) and said, “I have no audio either”. I felt like an idiot lol.
  • Speaking of Dave, he played a practical joke on Cori Lally (online scorekeeper) a few days ago. She left the booth for the intermission and he saw her 50/50 ticket. During the third period he pretended to call her number and she thought she won $200. Poor Cori. We were all in on it.

The Gang

  • Did you know that our Public Address Announcer/Music Director sometimes where 2 pairs of glasses at the same time? (I’m not gonna lie, it’s kind of weird weird Dave.)

Dave Dueck

  • When Mark Berry (C.R. Storm play by play guy) does color for me, he always bugs me that Glacier Kings owner Marsha Webb likes Kyle Ireland (Oceanside Generals play by play guy) better than me. Mark says that she gives Kyle gets the better sandwiches. I’m thinking he’s right.

Kyle Ireland

I needed 7 minutes on my pregame interview from Mike Nesbitt on Saturday to fill the full 15 minutes. I don’t want to say I’m good but I got it to 7 minutes right to the hundreth of a second. Look at the small number that shows the length. Couldn’t do that again if I tried.

Interview

I just wanted to close by saying a special goodbye and congratulations to all the 20 year olds who are playing their last junior hockey game this weekend (the one’s whose team missed the playoffs). I wish you the best of luck in your future as it is your generation that will be taking care of old guys like me. I hope you all have many good memories to cherish from your VIJHL days. You given us so many.

Btw, game time tomorrow is earlier than normal at the Sports Centre. The puck drops at 6:30 with Oceanside in town. Pregame show on HockeyTV starts at 6:15. Stay safe everyone.

Darryl Skender

Leave a comment